Syniti Migrate

Role Management

This page contains the following sections:

About Role Management

The Role Management section of Security maintains the Roles and attaches Users and Features to these Roles.  The system provides roles that should cover all of the standard positions and activities of users on a project.  Role Management allows the responsible users ability to modify the existing roles as well as assign users to roles.  The role of Administrator contains all roles - that role is the top and Administers to all other roles. 

The user logs into the system with a Syniti Knowledge Platform ID and password setup through the Syniti Support service. This single sign on (SSO) process with authenticate the user's credentials based upon the assigned Tenant and User ID. When a user logs into Syniti Migrate for the first time via SSO, if the user does not have an account within Syniti Migrate they are automatically created. When doing so, the system assigns them roles based on their setup in the SynitiKnowledge Platform

The role mapping from Syniti Knowledge Platform to Syniti Migrate translate as follows:

SKP

Syniti Migrate

admin

MIGRATION_ADMIN

business-admin

MIGRATION_DEVELOPER

member MIGRATION_MAPPER
user MIGRATION_DESIGNER
viewer MIGRATION_READONLY

Dependencies & Prerequisites

Before building and using Role Management, the users must be loaded and activated.  This section of the system aligns the users to the appropriate features for their job role.  Refer to section Administer > Security > Users Management for details of creating and maintaining a User of the Migration application.   

Working in Role Management

View the following screen by navigating to Administer > Security > Role Management from the Syniti Migrate Home screen.  The Role Management screen displays a list of roles available to assign to Users and the Features that are available to each of the Roles.  Roles are not set to Active or Inactive - they are used or not used. 

Role Management: Roles Display

The Roles panel displays the following fields:

Heading

Definition

Name

Name of the Security Role .

Description

The description of the Security Role.

NOTEThe Administrator role contains all access, and that role can grant access for others to have Administrator access.  USER ADMIN was designed to be given to a Help Desk person, or some other non-ADMIN  so they can create new users.   This role is not provided Administrator access so that they cannot provide Administrator access for themselves or others.

A set of default Roles installs with the system.  The Role Description provides details for the use of each Role.

Each Role comes loaded with Features that provide access to screens within Migration as shown below.  A few of the pages also come with Child security where certain panels may be locked down more than the overall security for the overall screen. 

Role Management: Features Display

The Features panel displays the following fields:

Heading

Definition

Page

Page in Migration.

Area

Migration Menu - vertical area.

Screen

Screen name.

Read

Toggle to allow read access to screen.

Update

Toggle to allow update access to screen.

Insert

Toggle to allow insert access to screen.

Delete

Toggle to allow delete access to screen.

The Users panel displays the following fields:

Heading

Definition

User Name

User ID within Migration.

First Name

User First Name.

Last Name

User Last Name.

Add a Role for Security

Click on the Add  icon within the Roles panel to open a window to add the new Role.  Enter the Role Name and the Description to proceed.  Role Name is required but Description is optional. 

Role Management: Add new Role

When finished with edits, click the Save  icon to complete.

The new Role displays in the list of Roles. 

Add Users to a Role

At this point, the user may add Users for this new Role by a click on the Add  Icon.  A window for Select users to add to role displays.  Toggle as Selected each User Name to add them to the list of Users for this Role.  Many users may be added in the same manner. 

Role Management: Add Users to a Role

When finished with edits, click the Save  icon to complete.

Add Features to a Role

From within the Roles Management screen, select the appropriate Role within the left panel of the screen, and then click on the Features tab title within the right panel of the screen to view the Features for role details.

Role Management: Features update

From within this screen, toggle on or off the settings for each feature based upon the Area (Menu Path) and the Page (Screen) to limit the access for this Role.  This process is now complete. 

NOTEA Child Control is setup only for Mapping and Dataset Design screens as they have many panels of data, and the role may need to limit access to a portion of these screens base upon the Role.  Generally, the Screen contains more access, and then at the Child level the access is reduced.

Refer to the Appendix for a detailed chart of the Syniti default Roles delivered with new Installs of the Migration Application.